

Resolution of Council

9 September 2019

Item 4.4

Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee - Policies and Procedures, Membership and Appointment of Chairperson and Alternate Chairperson

File No: S062388

Memorandum by the Chief Executive Officer

To Council:

The Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee is a statutory committee, established under the Roads Act 1993 and in accordance with administrative procedures required by Roads and Maritime Services (RMS).

Councils have been delegated certain powers by RMS regarding the regulation of traffic on local roads. A condition of this delegation is that councils must take into account the advice of their Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee before exercising these powers.

The Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee has no decision-making powers. It is primarily a technical review body which is required to advise Council and City staff on traffic-related matters. Council and City staff are therefore not bound or required to implement a proposal supported by the Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee. Any proposal supported by the Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee must be approved by either the elected Council or authorised City staff (depending on the nature of the proposal) if it is to be implemented. This can only be done when the advice of the Committee is unanimous. Where the advice of the Committee is not unanimous, Council must separately notify and obtain the endorsement of RMS and NSW Police.

city of Villages

The Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee is made up of four formal (voting) members as follows:

- one representative of Council (Chairperson or alternate Chairperson);
- one representative of NSW Police;
- one representative of RMS;
- the local State Member of Parliament (MP) or their nominee;
- one representative of a relevant NSW Government agency (where applicable)*.

Representatives of NSW Police and State MPs can only vote on matters in their respective command or electorate.

*The NSW Government agencies are formal (voting) members for matters relating to roads over which they have jurisdiction only (for example, Property NSW / Place Management NSW / Infrastructure NSW). The City of Sydney Council is not a formal (voting) member for these matters.

The Chairperson and alternate Chairperson are to be determined by Council, and Council's representative may be any Councillor or City staff. Council (in consultation with the formal members of the Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee) may also decide to have additional informal (non-voting) representatives who can provide non-binding input on matters under consideration. Informal (non-voting) members of the Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee are as follows:

- Transport for NSW representative;
- Transport Workers Union representative;
- cycling representative appointed by the Lord Mayor; and
- pedestrian representative appointed by the Lord Mayor.

City staff convene meetings and provide administrative support for the Committee, including the preparation of agendas, reports and minutes, and formally represent Council when both the Chairperson and the alternate Chairperson are absent.

The Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee meets every third Thursday of the month, except in January, at 10.00am in the Council Chamber, Sydney Town Hall. Members of the public are welcome to attend and speak to an item on the Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee agenda.

On 17 September 2018, the Lord Mayor, Councillor Clover Moore and Councillor Philip Thalis were appointed Chairperson and alternate Chairperson of the Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee respectively for a term office ending on 30 September 2019. Council is now required to appoint a Chairperson and alternate Chairperson for the new term of office commencing immediately and ending on the day appointed for the next ordinary election of Council, scheduled to be held in September 2020.

It is also recommended that the Policies and Procedures of the Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee as set out in Attachment A to this Memorandum be endorsed and adopted. Minor amendments are proposed to these Policies and Procedures to clarify the formal (voting) members of the Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee.

Recommendation

It is resolved that:

- the Policies and Procedures of the Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee, as contained in Attachment A to the subject Memorandum, be endorsed and adopted;
- (B) the informal (non-voting) representatives to the Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee, as outlined in the subject Memorandum, be endorsed;

MONICA BARONE

Chief Executive Officer

Moved by the Chair (the Lord Mayor), seconded by Councillor Miller –

It is resolved that:

- (A) the Policies and Procedures of the Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee, as contained in Attachment A to the subject Memorandum, be endorsed and adopted;
- (B) the informal (non-voting) representatives to the Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee, as outlined in the subject Memorandum, be endorsed;
- (C) Council appoint Councillor Philip Thalis as the Chairperson of the Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee for a term effective immediately and ending on the day appointed for the next ordinary election of Council; and
- (D) Council appoint Councillor Linda Scott as the alternate Chairperson of the Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee, for a term effective immediately and ending on the day appointed for the next ordinary election of Council.

Amendment. Moved By Councillor Vithoulkas, seconded by Councillor Forster -

It is resolved that:

- (A) the Policies and Procedures of the Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee, as contained in Attachment A to the subject Memorandum, be endorsed and adopted;
- (B) the informal (non-voting) representatives to the Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee, as outlined in the subject Memorandum, be endorsed;
- (C) Council appoint Councillor Christine Forster as the Chairperson of the Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee for a term effective immediately and ending on the day appointed for the next ordinary election of Council; and
- (D) Council appoint Councillor Kerryn Phelps as the alternate Chairperson of the Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee, for a term effective immediately and ending on the day appointed for the next ordinary election of Council.

The amendment was lost on the following show of hands -

- Ayes (3) Councillors Forster, Phelps, and Vithoulkas
- Noes (6) The Chair (the Lord Mayor), Councillors Kok, Miller, Scott, Scully, and Thalis

The substantive motion was carried on the following show of hands -

- Ayes (6) The Chair (the Lord Mayor), Councillors Kok, Miller, Scott, Scully and Thalis
- Noes (3) Councillors Forster, Phelps, and Vithoulkas

Substantive motion carried.